Wailing City Spotlight: Interview with Llama Tsunami

Published September 21, 2023
Interview by Meghan Killimade

You guys have been together and playing in the area for around 15 years!? For those who may be unfamiliar - what's the history of the band?  
Band: Formed in 2008, Llama Tsunami is a 9 piece ska band. Many members have come and gone over the years- there are 20 current and former llamas! Currently, three original members remain; Ben Perry (bass, vocals), Nick Perry (vocals), and Josh Middleton (trumpet). Kevin Stoodt (saxophone) joined in 2010, Zach Lewis (lead guitar) joined in 2013, and Christy Hagerty-Stoodt started singing with the band in 2015. Meg Canastar (trombone) joined in 2018, Marcus Dipollina, a long time friend and drum sub, joined officially as our drummer in 2019, and Evan Grey joined in 2022 as our rhythm guitarist. Zach and Marcus are from Waterford, Evan is from New London, and everyone else is from Montville. The band has always been a creative outlet, but also we’re just a bunch of folks who want to have fun, and be a little dumb, like, as a band. We started as college kids who wanted to make music with friends, and now we’re a bunch of adults who make music with friends....



More music under our music tab, or click here